Review: Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua

So a few months ago, I bought Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua foundation on my recommendation of my makeup artist friend who told me that it’s one of the best foundations for oily skin. My current YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat, I suspect, was making my break out which made me feel like I kept having to wear more foundation. That’s a vicious cycle, eh? According to the Chanel lady, this foundation was perfect for oily skin because of something to do with the fact that it’s water based rather than oil based? I only care that this is one foundation that never irritated my skin nor make my break out afterwards. I just felt comfortable.

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua does a great job evening out my skintone, especially the dark spots leftover from previous acne scars. It’s buildable so I can have a sheer layer to more coverage to disguise angry red zits. I only apply the foundation wear needed, like my cheekbones, on my chin/jawline and just above my eyebrows.

Like YSL’s Le Teint Touche Eclat, I found it to be quite natural looking on my face. I never felt like I was wearing a mask nor did it ever look like it. It really did feel like my skin which is something I’m adamantly picky about when it comes to foundation. I don’t want to look like I’m faking good skin.

The one thing I will say that I prefer about YSL’s foundation over Chanel’s foundation is that my face did look flat after application. I definitely want to apply some blush, bronzer or highlighter afterwards – anything to give my face more dimension.

Nonetheless, I highly recommend this foundation for any girl with acne-prone skin.

Leave a Reply

