Hair Recommendations

I’ve got thick, coarse and slightly wavy hair. It tends to be dull, dry and frizzy. And it has a tendency of feeling like hay if I neglect it. And so I’ve spent a lot of time and money trying to wrangle my hair into submission. I’ve paid for a lot of expensive products and procedures, always chasing that elusive Pantene Pro V hair that I used to see in commercials. (These days, my ideal hair would be Amanda Seyfried’s. So thick, glossy and perfectly curled.)

So through trail & error, I’ve only found like a handful of stuff that actually works to make my hair feel good and the rest of it is really just garbage. Seriously.

(Note: I know, I know. Why listen to hair product recommendations from a girl with dry hair rather than someone with luxuriously shiny hair? Because I find a lot of people with great hair have it naturally and don’t need to do a lot to make it look awesome. My hair is naturally ugly but I can make it look pretty with the right stuff. So if your hair is naturally ugly like mine, read on.)

l-r, Moroccan Oil, Masquintense, Born Again, Elixir Ultime

l-r: Moroccan Oil, Masquintense, Born Again, Elixir Ultime

1) Moroccan Oil
By now, most people have already discovered Moroccan Oil. There’s a reason why this is so popular – it works and works well. After a shower, I apply two pumps of the stuff to my ends and work the oil up the shaft of my hair and do a couple of swipes on my bangs. I find it leaves my hair feeling softer. But unlike hair serums I’ve used before (eg: Frizz-Ease by John Frieda, Ojon’s Conditioning Shine Serum), this one doesn’t feel heavy or greasy in my hair. It’s totally absorbed into the hair shaft and you can’t tell there’s product there. It just feels and looks like nice hair.

2) Kevin Murphy Born Again Masque
My hairstylist, Simona, introduced me to this hair mask when my hair started feeling dry & damaged from all the heat styling and colouring I’d been subjected it to. Previously I’ve run the gamut when it comes to deep conditioners, from drugstore kinds like L’Oreal Total Repair 5 Replenishing Mask (does nothing but leave a film on the hair) to salon quality brands like Bumble and bumble’s Creme de Coco Masque (at least this one left a yummy coconut smell to my hair) and . Most do a decent job at making my hair feel soft again but the results only last until the next time I shampooed my hair. I find with Born Again, the results last.

3) Kerastase Elixir Ultime Moringa Immortel
Wow, that’s a mouthful! I’ve only used this hair oil twice but already I can feel a major difference. My hair is naturally slightly wavy. When left to air dry, it doesn’t dry straight. It dries either frizzy and pouffy if it’s damaged and beautifully beachy wavy if it’s in good condition. The two times I’ve used this Elixir Ultime, I’ve found my hair, for the first time in a couple of years, has a crazy pretty wave to it. It’s also very soft (my ends feel like I’ve just had a fresh trim) and super shiny. It’s like I’ve got someone else’s hair on my head at the moment – this is how much of a difference it makes!

4) Kerastase Masquintense for Thick Hair
Finally, my secret weapon. I discovered this hair mask about a week after I got engaged. Just before my husband proposed to me, I had cut off all my hair in a fit of rage over a clogged up toilet. It went from a nice medium length to a super short bob. Like most brides, I wanted long hair for my wedding day so I decided that I wasn’t going to cut my hair until after the wedding,… a year and a half away. I walked into Suki’s on Granville St and asked the receptionist to recommend for me the best deep conditioner they sold. And into my life came Masquintense. For the 18 months leading up to my wedding, my hair didn’t have any split ends and never felt coarse or damaged even though I didn’t trim it at all. As a matter of fact, this mask didn’t just keep my hair from being ugly, it actually made my hair pretty. This stuff is a godsend, it’s so good.  If only it wasn’t so expensive which is why I don’t buy it all the time. But for the times when I want to grow out my hair in a hurry (read: no trims, etc), this is what I turn to every time.

1 comment
  1. Moroccan oil is one of othe best seller at our salon! Like most oil you can also put it on your skin. 🙂
    I also really enjoy Kevin Murphy products.

Leave a Reply

