Fashion Advice

Last night, I slept over at Y’s house and then I had to borrow a
sweater so I could be work-appropriate for this morning. A nice fleecy
black sweater which isn’t my style but hey – it’s warm which is nice on
such a dreary day. I thought I could get away with it; who really pays
attention to what I wear? And no one made a comment about it all day
until…

B, this grade six girl who’s in my class at the end of the day, comes up to me and informs me:

B:Y’know, Anna. I don’t think you should wear baggy clothes.
A: Oh? Why is that, B?
B: Well, you’re short right?… Hahaha, no, I don’t mean that like a
bad thing. I think you should wear tight…tighter clothes, because
that doesn’t make you look short…

A: Okay…
B: … Because wearing baggy clothes makes you look droopy.
A: Droopy?
B: No, I don’t mean that like a bad thing…
A: Okay, so let’s go on with the lesson!

Sigh, it’s never a good thing when your elementary age kids start
giving you fashion advice. Nothing makes you feel so old… Then again,
she’s got a good eye. Baggy clothes and short girls should never mix. I
couldn’t be prouder. It’s a mixed blessing.

******

Another Saturday night at home! But does that mean I’m throwing myself
a lil pity party? Nope. It means I’m dancing around the 80s tunes in my
underwear à la Cameron Diaz in Charlie’s Angels.

Recently rediscovered tunes currently being blasted:

“The Way That You Love Me” and “Opposites Attract” by Paula Abdul

“Fast Love” by George Michael

“I Wanna Dance With Somebody” by Whitney Houston

“Remember the Time” by Michael Jackson

“If She Knew What She Wants” by The Bangles

“Dreamlover” by Mariah Carey

Old favourites forever on rotation:

“Papa Don’t Preach” and “Like a Prayer” by Madonna (because 80s music night just isn’t 80s music night without a lil Madonna)

“Control” and “Rhythm Nation” by Janet Jackson

“Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” by Cyndi Lauper

“Bad” and “Thriller” by Michael Jackson
“Bizarre Love Triangle” by New Order

5 comments
  1. That kid has a future in the fashion industry.  Either that or our culture has been brainwashed while we are young on what to wear, a good thing if you think about it.

  2. Anonymous said:

    She’s a smart cookie

  3. ckn said:

    Oh-boy! XDMore stories of elementary kids to come, aight?

  4. leeka said:

    the kids call you by your first name?

Leave a Reply

