Now that I’ve gotten my point across… *private* it goes.

******< START OF ENGLISH MAJOR/TEACHER RANT >

My ex-boyfriend likes to call me a language nazi. Last night, while we
were on the phone, he used a word that’s been bothering me for a while.
It’s a word
I’ve seen and heard a lot of people using and everytime I hear it, it
feels like nails scratching on a keyboard.

Conversate is not a word. Converse is the word you’re looking for. You converse in a conversation. You do not conversate in a conversation.

Don’t believe me? Think about it this way. What is the verb form of
preservation? Preservate or preserve? Exactly. If you still don’t
believe me, look up “conversate” andconverse” in your dictionary and tell me what you find.

</ END OF ENGLISH MAJOR/TEACHER RANT >

14 comments
  1. Anonymous said:

    i sympathize. even though i’m not an english major or a schoolteacher, i notice things like that all the time. but keep in mind also that the english language is not dictated by what is right and what is wrong, but by common usage. one day, if enough people start using conversate, it will make it into the dictionary, and thereafter become a real word. whether you like it or not.

  2. s0rr0w said:

    I hate that. Thuggery was a word that the Province used on their front page and it soon made its way into the dictionary.Anyhoo… People call me an English Nazi as well. It’s funny how I never really did all that well in those classes though.

  3. Anonymous said:

    uh oh.. teacher rants… :/

  4. Anonymous said:

    I am so not a barstar

  5. staytru said:

    Odd! I’ve never heard anyone use ‘conversate’. hahah. it sounds weird. I hope i don’t start using it now that I’ve seen it. haha.

  6. I think I heard ‘conversate’ in some rap song. Rap stars have their own language it seems…hehe :).

  7. Well there goes my passing mark if I was in your class hehehe =þ

  8. Anonymous said:

    I heard conversate in one of the Notorious B.I.G’s rap song , i thought it was a word ever since 🙂

  9. dcee604 said:

    well, i’m just gonna perservate instead of persevere…sue me.

  10. heehee… that’s true!! CONVERSE! not conversate~~s0rr0w = Mr. Grammar/ Gramma Police

  11. Anonymous said:

    lol.. sounds like one of my rants.

  12. i know…working out is ewww exactly!! but i need it or else ill have a heart of a 50 year old! ;)and converse sounds way better than conversate! lol

  13. gloomybb said:

    Oooooooh, I’m part of the club too.  Even though I do use non-words, I know they aren’t real words and use them lightly [ie. ginormous].  There’s a difference between knowingly using a non-word and using a non-word thinking that it’s a real word and then insisting on it when the English Nazis come pounding on your door.  Haha.

  14. as an english major, i just want to say “i concur”

Leave a Reply

